Münster Rugby | 7 Munster players included in Irish men’s squad for SA Tour

Münster Rugby |  7 Munster players included in Irish men’s squad for SA Tour

Head Coach Andy Farrell today named a 35-player Irish men’s squad for the upcoming Summer Tour to South Africa, led by Peter O’Mahony, one of seven Munster players in the squad.

The squad will meet at the IRFU High Performance Center in Dublin on Thursday to begin preparations for the two-match Test series against the Springboks before heading to Johannesburg from Tuesday, June 25.

Farrell has named three uncapped players in the squad, while Leinster duo Jamie Osborne and Sam Prendergast are rewarded for their performances at provincial level, while Ulster’s Cormac Izuchukwu earns his first senior call-up.

Farrell’s side will face the Springboks in the opening Test at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria on Saturday, July 6 (kick-off 5pm local time/4pm Irish time), with Hollywoodbets Kings Park in Durban hosting the second Test. week later on Saturday 13 July (kick-off 5pm local time/4pm Irish time).

Looking ahead to the Summer Tour, Farrell said: “Traveling to South Africa to play a Test Series against the defending world champions could not be a bigger test for us, and it is another valuable opportunity for us to continue to grow and develop from the Guinness Six Nations. .

“The squad is meeting in Dublin this week in preparation for the Tour and the group understands the need to hit the ground running and ensure we are the best versions of ourselves for the challenge ahead.”

Ireland captain Peter O’Mahony added: “I am proud to have been asked to lead Ireland in South Africa, a country that offers one of the toughest challenges in world rugby.

“As reigning world champions, South Africa will provide the toughest tests and we know we will have to perform at a high level to achieve the results we want. There has been a lot of respect and familiarity between both countries at international and club level in recent years, since they were invited to compete in the URC and European Cup competitions, and we know the challenge that awaits us.”

The two tests will be live on Sky Sports in the Republic of Ireland and the United Kingdom.

Ireland Selection – Summer Tour 2024:



Ryan Baird (University of Dublin/Leinster) 20
Finlay Bealham (Buccaneers/Connacht) 40
Tadhg Beirne (Lansdowne/Munster) 50
Caelan Doris (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 41
Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster) 76
Cian Healy (Clontarf/Leinster) 129
Rob Haring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 39
Cormac Izuchukwu (Ulster/Ballynahinch)*
Oli Jager (Munster) 1
Ronan Kelleher (Lansdowne/Leinster) 31
Joe McCarthy (University of Dublin/Leinster) 10
Peter O’Mahony (Cork Constitution/Munster) (captain) 105
Tom O’Toole (Ballynahinch/Ulster) 13
Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster) 64
Cian Prendergast (UCD/Connacht) 3
James Ryan (UCD/Leinster) 62
Dan Sheehan (Lansdowne/Leinster) 26
Nick Timoney (Banbridge/Ulster) 3
Josh van der Flier (UCD/Leinster) 62


Bundee Aki (Galwegians/Connacht) 56
Caolin Blade (Galwegians/Connacht) 2
Craig Casey (Shannon/Munster) 14
Jack Crowley (Cork Constitution/Munster) 14
Ciaran Frawley (UCD/Leinster) 4
Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Leinster) 72
Jordan Larmour (St Mary’s College/Leinster) 32
James Lowe (Leinster) 31
Stuart McCloskey (Bangor/Ulster) 17
Conor Murray (Garryowen/Munster) 116
Calvin Nash (Young Munster/Munster) 6
Jimmy O’Brien (Naas/Leinster) 8
Jamie Osborne (Naas/Leinster)*
Sam Prendergast (Lansdowne/Leinster)*
Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster) 58
Jacob Stockdale (Lurgan/Ulster) 37

*denotes uncapped player

Not available: Jamison Gibson-Park (hamstring injury) and Jack Conan (personal reasons).

Summer tour 2024 schedule:

Saturday 6 July: South Africa v Ireland, Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria (5pm local time/4pm Irish time)
Saturday 13 July: South Africa v Ireland, Hollywoodbets Kings Park, Durban (5pm local time/4pm Irish time).